
STATE OF DELAWARE 
OFFICE of the ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER 

Carvel State Office Building 
   820 North French Street, Suite 325     Telephone:  (302) 577-5222 

   Wilmington, Delaware 19801         Fax:  (302) 577-3204 
 

 

Dear Applicant: 

 

Enclosed please find the supplier application form to be licensed to import alcoholic 

liquor into the State of Delaware. 

 

The cost of the license is $100.00 to ship 200 cases or less in a calendar year (OSL– 

‘limited’) or $1000.00 (to be prorated upon approval) to ship 200 cases or more (OSS– 

‘Unlimited’).  A $1000.00 non-refundable application processing fee must accompany 

your application if you choose to obtain an unlimited license.  This fee does not 

include the cost of your license and the fee is not prorated.  The term of a license 

is biennial (2 years) and runs from January 1 to December 31.  The license must be 

renewed three (3) months prior to the expiration of the license.  The renewal period 

runs from August 15 and renewal applications must be received in our office by October 

1 of the renewal year. 

 

All sales representatives working in this state are required to be licensed.  This fee 

is $50.00 per person and is valid for the length of the supplier’s license.  The fee 

is not prorated. You will find an application form enclosed. This is only required if 

you have sales representatives that will be working in the State of Delaware.   

 

Our rules and laws are available on our website at date.delaware.gov.  

 

In addition to submitting your completed license application, upon entering into a 

written contractual relationship with a Delaware wholesaler, a copy of the contract, 

and a list of alcoholic products intended to be shipped into this state must be 

submitted. 

 

Monthly shipping reports must be submitted pursuant to Rule 8, Sect. III(D)(1).  

Instructions on submission can be obtained by contacting William Kirby, Delaware 

Division of Revenue at Holly.Reynolds@delaware.gov or (302)752-3757. 

 

Finally, enclosed are copies of 4 Del. C., Section 501, Commission Rules 401 and 901 

to aid you in submitting the proper documentation to the Commissioner. 

 

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Gray at (302) 577-5204 or 

Julie.gray@delaware.gov. 

 

Very truly yours, 

 

 

John H. Cordrey 

Commissioner 

 

Enclosure 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://date.delaware.gov/dabcpublic/rules_laws21-40.html
mailto:Holly.Reynolds@delaware.gov


 
STATE OF DELAWARE 

OFFICE of the ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER 
Carvel State Office Building 

   820 North French Street, Suite 325     Telephone:  (302) 577-5222 
   Wilmington, Delaware 19801         Fax:  (302) 577-3204 

 

Out of State Supplier Application 

LICENSE FEES 
 

(  )  OSL LIMITED –   TO SHIP 200 CASES OR LESS IN A CALENDER YEAR     $  100.00                

(  ) OSS UNLIMITED - TO SHIP 201 CASES OR MORE      $ 1000.00 Processing Fee  

(OSS license fee to be calculated upon approval) 
     

             

Federal Employee I.D. Number ______________   Business Type (  ) 

Business Phone Number ____________________   Corporation (  ) 

        Individual (  ) 

        Partnership (  ) 

        LLC  (  ) 

_______________________________     trading as, aka, dba, _________________________________ 

(Please attach a list of all trade names) hereby makes application for a license to sell alcoholic liquors, defined in an 

Act entitled “The Liquor Control Act”, for importation into the State of Delaware, authorized by the Act.  

 

1. Mailing Address _____________________________________________________________ 

                                          ____________________________________________________________ 

 

 

2. Date and State of Incorporation _________________________________________________ 

    

 

3. Principal office address of said corporation (if different from above) ___________________________ 

 

 __________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

If a corporation, please attach a certificate of incorporation.  If a Partnership please attach a partnership agreement or 

proof of partnership and complete the enclosed partnership authorization from corporate officers, individuals or 

partners (for partnerships, LLC, please list percentage of business owned and under number of shares owned below.  

Complete applicable information). 

 

 

4.  E-mail Address_______________________________ (the license will be emailed to you 

upon approval) 

 
 

 

 

 

 



5. Individual, Partners,     # of shares    Date of Birth      

    Officers, Directors &  Office Held  owned or % 

     Stockholders or Members     of business          

 

____________________            ______________        ______         ____________________          

____________________           ______________        ______      ____________________          

____________________         ______________        ______    ____________________            

____________________         ______________     ______    ____________________         

____________________       ______________      ______      _______ _____________         

____________________      ______________  ______     _____________________        

 

 

6. Have any of said officers or directors been convicted of violating any of the liquor laws of the State of 

Delaware, or been convicted and imprisoned for a crime?     (  )  Yes     (  ) No 

 

 If so, give name, state and applicable law ___________________________________________ 

 _____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

7. Have any of the applicant directors, officers, members, or any of the applicant’s shareholders who hold 

more than 10% of the outstanding issued shares been convicted of violating any of the prohibited acts 

defined in Chapter 47 of Title 16, the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, or its functional equivalent 

under the laws of the United States, any state or territory or any other country, including but not limited to, 

the illegal manufacture, delivery, trafficking, possession or consumption of any controlled or non-

controlled substance, or the delivery or possession of illegal drug paraphernalia or illegal hypodermic 

syringes or needles, or the conspiracy, solicitation or other attempt to engage in such illegal activities? 

 

If so, give name, state and applicable law ___________________________________________ 

 _____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

8. License Application Contact ________________________   Phone Number _______________ 

 

 Shipment Report Contact __________________________    Phone Number ________________ 

 

9. Delaware wholesaler to which licensee intends to supply alcoholic liquors: 

a. Wholesaler Name ______________________________________________________ 

Duration from _____________________          Duration to _______________________ 

 

Agreement (  ) Written   (  ) Oral       Exclusive rights?     (  )  Yes     (  ) No 

 

10. If written, please attach a copy of the distribution agreement 

 Attach a list of all products by brand to be distributed by wholesaler listed above. 

 

11. Said corporation, partners, members, or individuals agrees to sell alcoholic liquors in accordance with the 

Liquor Control Act and the Alcoholic Beverage Commissioner’s Rules of the State of Delaware.  

 

12. Said corporation or any lf its officers, directors or stockholders, or limited liability corporation or any of its 

members, partners, or individual is not interested, either directly or indirectly, as owner or as partner, or as 

stockholder of a corporation, or in any other manner, in the wholesale importation  or retail selling of any 

alcoholic liquor. 



I (We) hereby affirm and ratify that all statements are true and correct and that in submitting the application we 

agree to be bound by all relevant Delaware statutes and regulations. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CORPORATE SEAL  )           Signed   ________________________________________ 

  If   )         Individual, Authorized Partner, or President of 

      )   Corporation.  Attach a power of attorney when            

Corporation   )   signed by other than those indicated above 

    )             Attest      ________________________________________ 

           Partner or Secretary of Corporation 

Attach a power of attorney when sighed by other than 

those listed above 

 

  
STATE OF                                    ) 

COUNTY OF 

 

 
  Personally appeared before me __________________________ a Notary Public for the State and    

         (Notary Name) 

County aforesaid _______________________________, known to me personally, who being by me    

                                            (Name and Title) 

 duly sworn according to law, did depose and say that the facts stated in the within application are true  

 

and correct. 
 

 

  SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED before me this ______ day of ____________________, 20____. 

 

        Commission expires the 

        ___day of _______________ 20___     

                                                                                                                  ____________________________ 

                            

           Notary Public 
                  



 SALES REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE 

TO SELL ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR INTENDED FOR IMPORTATION 

INTO THE STATE OF DELAWARE 

(NEW APPLICANTS ONLY) 

 

EXPIRATION DATE DECEMBER 31, 20___ 

Return to: 

 

Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner 

Carvel State Office Building, Third Floor 

820 North French Street 

Wilmington, Delaware   19801 

 

I_____________________________________, employed or sponsored by _________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________  

 Licensee/Business Name & Address 

__________________________________________________________, hereby make application for a  

Sales representative license to sell alcoholic liquor for importation into the State of Delaware. 

 

In making this application, I understand that no person shall solicit orders for the sale of alcoholic liquor or transport samples 

within the State of Delaware unless such person has been issued a sales representative license by the Office of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Commissioner.  I further understand the requirements for licensure contained in 4 Del. Code, Section 501(b). 

 

Each license issued by the Commissioner shall be signed by the person to whom it has been issued.  The license shall remain 

valid until it expires as indicated on the license or is cancelled by the Commissioner for just cause. 

 

A license may be cancelled for just cause by the Commissioner at any time after notice has been given to the licensee and a 

hearing has been held in conformity with all applicable laws. 

 

1. I desire to secure a license from the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner under the provisions of 4 

Del. Code, Section 501(b), and make this affidavit for that purpose. 

 

2. I reside at:  _____________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

3. My Date of Birth is _______________________________________________________________ 

 

 

4. I am familiar with the Laws and Commissioner’s Rules governing the sale and distribution of alcoholic Liquor in the 

State of Delaware, particularly those pertaining to the method of handling samples, prohibiting the offering of 

inducements in any form, prohibiting tie-in-sales, and those concerning credit regulations. 

 

5. I will not violate any Laws or Commissioner’s Rules. 

 

6. I have/have not been convicted of a violation of any liquor laws or been arrested or imprisoned for a crime.   

 

7. I submit herewith the sum of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) for payment of the OABCC licensure fee pursuant to 4 Del. Code, 

Section 501(b). 

 

 

 

 

 

 



SALES REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE APPLICATION     PAGE 2 

 

I _________________________________________ having been duly sworn according to law hereby depose and ratify that all 

statements are true and accurate and that in submitting this application, I agree to be bound by and to comply with all relevant 

Delaware rules and regulations.  

 

     _________________________________________________ 

       (Signature of Applicant) 

STATE OF:    ) 

     ) 

COUNTY OF:    ) 

 

 

Personally appeared before me _________________________________________________ for the  

     (Name of Notary Public) 

County and State aforesaid, ________________________________________________, known 

     (Name of Applicant) 

to me personally, who being by me duly sworn according to law, did depose and say that the facts stated within this application  

are true and correct. 

 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this ______________ day of _________, 20_____. 

 

SEAL      ___________________________________ 

       NOTARY PUBLIC 

STATE OF:    ) 

     ) 

COUNTY OF:    ) 

 

I _______________________________,     ______________________________, 

  Individual/President/Authorized Partner               (Title)  

 

know ________________________________, (the above-named individual) to be 

           (Name of Sales Representative Applicant) 

employed as a Sales Representative by __________________________________________________; to 

     (Name of Company & Telephone No.) 

act and conduct business in that capacity according to the laws and Commissioner’s rules governing the sale and distribution of 

alcoholic liquor in the State of Delaware. 

 

     _________________________________________________ 

                      (Signature) 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this __________ day of ____________, 20_____. 

 

     ________________________________________ 

      Notary Public 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 



                        SUPPLIER CHECKLIST 

 

PLEASE CHECK THE FOLLOWING BEFORE SUBMITTING YOUR RENEWAL  

 

HAVE YOU: 

____ Provided original signatures of President and Corporate Secretary, or 

Managing Member on Application?  (A Power of Attorney, Corporate 

Resolution, LLC Authorization, or Partnership authorization must be 

attached when signed by anyone other than  

  the requested signatory)? 

 

____ Notarized application? 

 

____ Attached a current Certificate of Incorporation or Formation or 

Articles of Incorporation, Limited Liability Corporation, or 

Partnership documents showing date recorded with state authority? 

 

____ Supplied names and telephone numbers of licensee contact person(s) for 

licensing and shipping matters? 

 

____ Provided the name of Delaware wholesaler with whom you have contracted?  

If written, attach a copy of the executed contract? 

 

____ Attached a list of products to be sold under this license? 

 

____ Attached a list of trade names shipping under this license complete 

with contact names, addresses and telephone numbers? 

 

____ Submitted a complete and current listing of officers, directors, 

stockholders, members and partners including all requested information? 

____ Submitted two-year fee of $100.00 for (OSL) Limited license (200-cases 

or less each calendar year), OR $1000.00 processing fee (OSS) Unlimited 

license) (OSS license fee to be determined upon approval) 

 

____ Submitted Sales Representative Application form with $50.00 for each 

sales representative license application? (If Applicable) 

 

____  Copy of your Federal Basic Permit (Required) 

 

NOTE: All fees can be made in one check payable to: OABCC 

 

 

 

 

 



Title 4, Section 501 

 

§ 501. Supplier and representative licenses; delivery and storage at in-

state warehouse. 

(a) Before any person sells any alcoholic liquor intended for 

importation into this State, such person shall procure from the 

Commission a supplier's license in the form to be prescribed by the 

Commissioner and shall pay therefore a biennial fee in the amount of 

$100 to be permitted to sell not more than 200 cases of alcoholic 

liquors for importation into the State during the calendar year or a 

biennial fee in the amount of $1000 to be permitted to sell more than 

200 cases of alcoholic liquors for importation into this State during 

the calendar year. This subsection shall not apply to any person 

licensed under subsection (b) of this section or to any person who 

either is licensed by the Commissioner and has a place of business in 

this State for the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquors or is an 

officer, director, or employee of a person, licensed by the 

Commissioner, having a place of business in this State for the 

manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquors. 

(b) Before any person shall do any businesses in this State in any 

manner whatsoever as a sales representative of a person who sells any 

alcoholic liquors intended for importation into this State, such person 

shall first obtain from the Commissioner a sales representative license 

in the form to be prescribed by the Commissioner and shall pay a 

biennial fee therefore in the amount of $50. Unless employed in any way 

by a person required to be licensed under subsection (a) of this 

section above, this subsection shall not apply to any person, who 

either is licensed by the Commissioner and shall not apply to any 

person, who either is licensed by the Commissioner and has a place of 

business in this State for the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquors 

or is an officer, director or employee of a person, licensed by the 

Commissioner, having a place of business in this State for the 

manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquors. 

(c) This section shall not apply to a daily importation into the 

State of a quantity of alcoholic liquor which does not exceed that 

amount which the United states government permits to be imported into 

the United States without payment of any duty thereon, provided such 

alcoholic liquor is imported by a person permitted by the laws of this 

State to purchase and consume alcoholic liquor and that such alcoholic 

liquor is imported solely for consumption by the person importing it or 

the person's family or guests. If such importation is by motor vehicle, 

the alcoholic liquor shall be transported in an area of the motor 

vehicle not immediately accessible to the driver or to any passenger 

therein. 



(d) Persons licensed by the Commissioner as suppliers pursuant to 

this section shall be authorized only to sell, ship or deliver 

alcoholic liquors to licensed Delaware importers or manufacturers, and 

persons licensed by the Commissioner as sales representatives pursuant 

to this section shall be authorized only to solicit orders, on behalf 

of licensed Delaware importers or manufacturers, from persons licensed 

by the Commissioner to sell alcoholic liquors. 

(e) The Commissioner may promulgate such rules and regulations as it 

deems necessary for the enforcement or furtherance of the objectives of 

this section and it may provide by such rules or regulations that the 

applicant for a supplier's license may pay a fee for each calendar year 

or pay the increased fee during any calendar year without the filing of 

an additional application. 

(f) No person may import into this State any alcoholic liquor unless 

it is delivered directly to a licensed warehouse or warehouses in 

Delaware owned, leased or operated by a licensed Delaware importer and 

is unloaded and physically stored in said warehouse or warehouses. (38 

Del. Laws, c. 18, § 15; Code 1935, § 6144(1); 4 Del. C. 1953, § 501; 58 

Del. Laws, c. 25; 59 Del. Laws, c. 107, § 13; 67 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 2; 

70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 408, §§ 1, 2; 72 Del. Laws, 

c. 486, § 9.) 

 

 

401 (Formerly Rule 8) A Rule Governing Taxes Paid on Wine, Cider, Spirits, 

and Beer Entering the State of Delaware 

  

1.0 Definitions 

“Commissioner” means the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner 

or Designee, the Division of Revenue. 

“Importer” means wholesaler. 

“Port of Entry” means the initial place, airport, common carrier 

terminal, or supply point for final distribution and delivery to the 

individual's home within Delaware. 

“Purchases” means when the merchandise has been unloaded on the premises 

of the licensee and receipt acknowledged by signing the way bill. 

“Wine, Cider, Spirits, Beer” means all alcoholic liquor to include bond 

alcohol as well as non-bond alcohol. 

  

 



2.0 Reporting Procedures for the Shipment of Wine, Cider, Spirits, and Beer 

into the State of Delaware 

2.1 Licensed Importers: 

2.1.1 Each licensed importer, when placing an order with a supplier, 

shall mail or electronically transmit directly to the supplier a true copy of 

the numbered purchase order showing the quantity, variety and size of 

container for each alcoholic liquor ordered. These purchase orders are to be 

provided on demand when requested by the Commissioner. 

2.1.2 Each licensed importer, shall record for the Commissioner by the 

close of business on the last calendar day of the month all purchases of 

wines, cider, spirits, and beer. This report shall show the importer purchase 

order number, supplier invoice number, amount of cases, exact gallonage for 

wine, cider, and spirits, and exact barrelage for beer. Each page shall be 

sub-totaled, except the last page, which shall show a grand total. This 

report shall be submitted to the Commissioner by the last business day 

following the last calendar day of the reporting month, except for the month 

of May. The May report will be due by the 15th of June. 

2.1.3 If there is a variance between the supplier sales report in 2.2.1 

below and the importer purchases report in 2.1.2 above, a full explanation 

will be required from both the supplier and the importer and a fine can be 

imposed on that supplier and/or importer. 

2.2 Licensed out-of-state suppliers: 

2.2.1 Each licensed supplier shall record for the Commissioner by the 

close of business on the last calendar day of each month all shipments of 

wine, cider, spirits, and beer into Delaware. This report shall be submitted 

to the Commissioner by the fifteenth day following the last calendar day of 

the reporting month. This report shall show the supplier invoice number, the 

importer purchase order number, date shipment was made or sent, number of 

cases and/or barrels and total amount in gallons or in barrelage, or both. 

This report shall have attached any credit invoices and/or memos issued for 

returns or transfers relating to the Delaware importer for that month. This 

information must be in the same form as stated above in this paragraph. A 

fine can be imposed on that supplier for failure to send any credit invoices 

and/or memos. If there were not any shipments made to Delaware, then the 

report must state "NO SHIPMENTS FOR THE MONTH OF". If the supplier does not 

send the monthly report, a fine can be imposed by the Commissioner on that 

supplier. If the purchase order number does not appear on the report or 

correspond with the importer purchase order number, then a fine can be 

imposed on that supplier and/or the importer. 

2.2.2 Although it is not required that sales invoices be sent with the 

supplier's monthly report, sales invoices are to be provided on demand when 

requested by the Commissioner. 

  



 

3.0 Procedures for Tax Payments and Tax Credits 

3.1 Tax Payments Due From Importers: 

3.1.1 Tax due the state of Delaware on the purchases reported in 

subsection 2.1.2 above, shall be verified, computed, and paid by cash, money 

order, or check by the last business day of the calendar month in which it is 

required to be reported except for the month of May. The May tax payment must 

be paid by the fifteenth day of June, and if the date falls on a Saturday or 

Sunday, the next business day of the calendar month. 

3.1.2 Any beer, spirits, wines or cider on which the Delaware tax has 

not been paid in accordance with this rule shall be seized by DATE. 

3.2 Tax Credits: 

3.2.1 Tax credits for transfers, returns, breakage, and sales to 

federal instrumentalities must be taken in the month that they occur. Claims 

for tax credits must be presented to the Commissioner on "DELAWARE IMPORTERS 

TAX CREDIT REPORT", and must include copies of invoices or other 

documentation verifying each claimed credit. These reports must be filed with 

the "CERTIFIED STATEMENT OF WINES, CIDER, SPIRITS, AND BEER PURCHASES REPORT" 

due on the last business day following the last calendar day of the reporting 

month. No pre-approval is required in order to take a credit against taxes 

due, provided that the importer fully complies with the above reporting 

requirements and stipulations set forth below: 

3.2.1.1 Transfers and Returns: The Delaware importer will list each 

transfer/return on the monthly Tax Credit Report and attach an invoice 

showing the brand, size, type and the amount of alcoholic liquor shipped in 

gallons or barrelage. 

3.2.1.2 Breakage: Tax credit on breakage requires a verification 

memorandum from the importer to the common carrier, which must be submitted 

with the monthly Tax Credit Report. No credit will be allowed on less than 

full case lots; and, should continuous breakage occur, a penalty equal to 150 

percent of the importers cost shall be levied against the supplier. No tax 

credit shall be allowed for post delivery breakage. 

3.2.1.3 Sales of Beer to Federal Instrumentalities: The Delaware 

importer will list all sales of beer to an instrumentality of the Armed 

Forces of the United States on the monthly Tax Credit Report. Copies of 

invoices must be attached showing the brand, size, type and the amount in 

gallons or barrelage of beer shipped. 

3.2.2 All tax credits are subject to verification by the Commissioner, 

and will be disallowed if the proper documentation is not submitted with the 

monthly "DELAWARE IMPORTERS TAX CREDIT REPORT". 



  

4.0 A Guideline for Metric Gallonage Conversion Tables 

4.1 To ensure that all liquor excise taxes are determined in a uniform 

manner, the use of a standard conversion table for commonly used container 

sizes of spirits and wines based upon the conversion factors used by the U.S. 

Department of Treasury is to be used. 

4.2 The official factor for spirits is one liter = .26417 gallons. 

4.3 The Delaware tax in 4 Del.C. §581, for beer provides a per barrel (31 

U.S. gallons) tax computation. 

19 DE Reg. 775 (02/01/16) 

 

900 Trade Practices for Suppliers, Wholesales, and Retailers 

  

Rule 901 (Formerly Rule 46) A Rule Governing the Contractual Relationships 

Between Suppliers and Wholesalers for the Distribution of Alcoholic Beverages 

  

1.0 Preamble 

Historically, in Delaware the distribution of particular brands of 

alcoholic beverages has been accomplished through dealings between an out-of-

state supplier (i.e., distiller, vintner, brewer, manufacturer, rectifier or 

other business entity) licensed to supply alcoholic beverages into Delaware 

and one Delaware wholesaler (also sometimes referred to as an importer or 

distributor) licensed to sell and distribute alcoholic beverages to Delaware 

retailers. These exclusive relationships between suppliers and wholesalers 

have, through the years, proven to be an efficient and economical means of 

distribution in Delaware. Until recently such exclusive relationships had 

been utilized to the virtual exclusion of other methods of distribution. 

Today, exclusivity still remains the preferred method of distribution for the 

vast majority of brands being sold in Delaware. 

Over the years, in reliance on the suppliers' custom and practice of 

establishing and maintaining exclusive distribution relationships, Delaware 

wholesalers have made substantial investments of time and money in efforts to 

promote and sell the suppliers' brands. As early as 1959, the Commissioner 

realized that some safeguards were necessary to protect wholesalers from 

arbitrary, discriminatory or otherwise unfair termination of the 

supplier/wholesaler relationship by national or international suppliers 

wielding far greater economic power than the local wholesalers. The 

Commissioner realized then, as the Commissioner does today, that should such 

abusive practices be permitted to occur, the adverse impact could be felt 

well beyond the affected wholesaler. As a result of the Commissioner’s 

concerns, the Commissioner promulgated the original version of Rule 46 in 



1959. The Rule was substantially revised in 1981 in an effort to provide more 

detailed criteria to govern the supplier/wholesaler relationship. 

It is the Commissioner's view that the Rule has effectively regulated the 

relationships between out-of-state suppliers and Delaware wholesalers during 

much of this decade. Nevertheless, because of changes which have been 

occurring within the industry itself, and because the Commissioner has had 

several recent opportunities to review the Rule in intricate detail in 

differing contexts, the Commissioner has become convinced that certain issues 

must be addressed by means of the promulgation of a new Rule 46. 

Specifically, over the last several years the supplier tier of the beverage 

alcohol industry has experienced widespread consolidation on a national and 

international scale. In several instances, this phenomenon has had a 

significant effect on supplier/wholesaler relationships in Delaware. 

Therefore, Rule 46 is being revised to recognize and address equitably the 

interests of both parties in such situations. 

Another recent change affecting supplier/wholesaler relationships in 

Delaware has been the interest expressed by several suppliers in implementing 

systems of "dual distribution" (i.e., distribution of a particular brand or 

brands of alcoholic beverages by more than one wholesaler in the same 

geographic area). As a result, Rule 46 is being revised specifically to 

address issues related to this method of distribution. 

Experience has also convinced the Commissioner that Rule 46 should provide 

suppliers with the ability to terminate an unwanted distribution relationship 

even in circumstances where the "good cause" requirements of the Rule cannot, 

be satisfied. Providing this flexibility is necessary in order to allow 

suppliers to adapt their systems of distribution to changing market 

conditions or otherwise to respond to legitimate business considerations. 

Therefore, the Rule is also being revised to allow for the termination or 

transfer of distribution rights even in those instances where "good cause" 

does not exist provided that the terminated wholesaler receives reasonable 

compensation from the supplier in recognition of its efforts to promote and 

sell the supplier's brands. 

Finally, this new Rule attempts to define more clearly the "good cause" 

criteria which must be satisfied in order to permit the uncompensated 

termination or transfer of distribution rights from one wholesaler to 

another. 

For the reasons stated and pursuant to the Commissioner’s statutory 

authority, the Commissioner promulgates new Rule 46 in an effort to strike an 

equitable balance between the sometimes conflicting interests of out-of-state 

suppliers and Delaware wholesalers, as well as to allow, to the extent 

practicable, business parties to determine the nature and the extent of their 

contractual relationships free from governmental intervention. In so doing, 

the Commissioner intends to further the interests of the State and its people 

in maintaining a healthy, efficient and competitive alcoholic beverage 



industry - one in which consumers are assured a wide range of products at 

reasonable prices. 

  

2.0 Requirements for Importing Alcoholic Beverages Into Delaware 

2.1 No out-of-state supplier of alcoholic beverages shall ship or caused 

to be shipped into Delaware any alcoholic beverages unless all of the 

following requirements have been satisfied: 

2.1.1 It shall have obtained from the Commissioner an Out-of-State 

Supplier's license as required by 4 Del.C. §501; 

2.1.2 It shall submit the following information to the Commissioner and 

to each affected wholesaler in writing: 

2.1.2.1 the name and address of each licensed wholesaler in 

Delaware with which it has contracted; 

2.1.2.2 the brand or brands of alcoholic beverages which it intends 

to distribute in Delaware; 

2.1.2.3 a statement as to whether the distribution rights being 

conferred on each wholesaler are exclusive; and 

2.1.2.4 if in writing, a copy of the distribution contract, between 

it and the licensed wholesaler(s); 

2.1.3 It shall ship such alcoholic beverages only to a wholesaler or 

wholesalers licensed by the Commissioner; and 

2.1.4 It shall agree to comply with all applicable requirements of this 

Rule. (Noncompliance with the requirements of subsection 2.1 prior to 

shipping alcoholic beverages into the State shall subject the supplier to the 

imposition of such administrative sanctions as the Commissioner deems 

warranted.) 

2.2 No wholesaler licensed by the Commissioner shall order or receive any 

alcoholic beverages from an out-of-state supplier which has not complied with 

the requirements contained in subsection 2.1 of this Rule. 

  

3.0 General Principles 

3.1 A licensed supplier having a contract (this term is also intended to 

include all agreements, understandings or other arrangements, whether written 

or oral) with a licensed wholesaler for the distribution in Delaware of a 

brand or brands of alcoholic beverages, which brand or brands have been 

recorded with the Commissioner as required by subsection 2.1.2 of this Rule, 



may terminate the distribution rights and transfer such rights to another 

licensed wholesaler upon the voluntary agreement of both wholesalers (i.e., a 

voluntary termination and transfer). In the event of such a voluntary 

termination and transfer, the supplier shall provide written notice of that 

fact to the Commissioner indicating that the affected wholesalers have both 

agreed to the termination and transfer. A copy of the supplier's notification 

letter to the Commissioner shall be provided to both wholesalers. 

3.2 In the event that a licensed wholesaler does not agree to the 

termination or transfer of its distribution rights (i.e., an involuntary 

termination or transfer), the supplier may terminate or transfer said rights 

only in accordance with the applicable provisions of this Rule. 

3.3 A licensed supplier already supplying a brand or brands of alcoholic 

beverages in Delaware by means of a single wholesaler may commence the "dual 

distribution" of such product(s) only after compliance with the applicable 

provisions of this Rule. 

3.4 A licensed supplier which seeks to introduce a new brand or brands of 

alcoholic beverages into Delaware may distribute such products through more 

than one licensed wholesaler provided that by so doing it does not violate 

any provision of an applicable distribution contract between it and any 

licensed wholesaler, and that it satisfies the requirements contained in 

subsection 2.1 of this Rule. 

  

4.0 Contracts 

4.1 Contracts involving the distribution of alcoholic beverages in 

Delaware between a licensed out-of-state supplier and a licensed wholesaler 

may be written or oral. 

4.2 No contract for the distribution of alcoholic beverages shall be 

supported by the exchange of $100 or more. 

4.3 All contracts subject to this Rule shall continue in effect until 

voluntarily terminated or until any involuntary termination, transfer or 

substantial modification of the distribution rights granted by such contracts 

has been approved by the Commissioner. 

4.4 Every contract for the distribution of alcoholic beverages in 

Delaware between a licensed out-of-state supplier and a licensed wholesaler 

shall contain, or be deemed to contain, all of the provisions of this Rule. 

  

5.0 Procedure for Involuntary Termination or Transfer 

5.1 Any licensed supplier which desires to terminate involuntarily the 

distribution rights of a licensed wholesaler or to transfer such rights from 



one licensed wholesaler to another shall submit a written request to the 

Commissioner at least sixty days prior to the proposed termination or 

transfer date. 

5.1.1 Upon written request, a copy of which shall be provided to the 

affected wholesaler, the sixty-day notice provision may be waived by the 

Commissioner if the reason for the requested termination or transfer is the 

insolvency of the wholesaler, the occurrence of an assignment for the benefit 

of the wholesaler's creditors, the bankruptcy of the wholesaler, the 

dissolution or liquidation of the wholesaler, the cancellation, revocation, 

nonrenewal or suspension for more than thirty consecutive days of the 

wholesaler's license, or, if the supplier can otherwise establish to the 

satisfaction of the Commissioner that compliance with the sixty day notice 

requirement would cause it to suffer irreparable harm. 

5.1.2 The requirement of this section that the supplier provide the 

Commissioner with a written request to terminate or transfer distribution 

rights is applicable to, and includes, those circumstances whereby the 

supplier has obtained the rights to supply such alcoholic beverages in 

Delaware by means of a merger, purchase of stock, purchase of assets, or 

other acquisition, or by otherwise becoming a new regional or national 

supplier of such products. Any supplier obtaining such rights to supply 

alcoholic beverages in Delaware does so subject to the existing distribution 

arrangement and rights existing in Delaware with respect to such beverages. 

5.2 The written request to terminate or transfer distribution rights 

required by subsection 5.1 shall include all of the following information: 

5.2.1 The name and address of the existing wholesaler from which the 

supplier seeks to withdraw the distribution rights, and the name(s) and 

address(es) of the wholesaler(s) upon which the distribution rights are 

sought to be conferred; 

5.2.2 The reason and basis for the request; and, 

5.2.2.1 In the event that good cause is relied upon for such 

termination or transfer, a summary of the facts giving rise to the assertion 

of good cause; or 

5.2.2.2 In the event that good cause is not the basis for the 

request, the agreement to pay compensation and to abide by arbitration, if 

necessary, as provided by this Rule, together with a-representation that the 

request does not violate any of the terms of the distribution agreement with 

the existing wholesaler. 

5.3 If good cause is the basis for the request to terminate or transfer 

distribution rights, the supplier shall provide a copy of the notice required 

by subsection 5.2 by certified mail, return receipt requested, to any 

wholesaler affected by its request. Any adversely affected wholesaler may 

oppose the request by sending written notice of its opposition to the 

Commissioner by certified mail, return receipt requested, within twenty days 



after receipt of its copy of the supplier's request. A copy of the notice of 

opposition shall also be sent to the supplier and any other affected 

wholesaler(s). The failure to file a timely notice of opposition with the 

Commissioner shall waive the wholesaler's right to oppose the request to 

terminate or transfer distribution rights. If the Commissioner receives 

timely notice of opposition to a request to terminate or transfer 

distribution rights for good cause, the Commissioner shall hold a hearing to 

consider the request and the opposition thereto. 

5.4 If good cause is not the basis for the request to terminate or 

transfer distribution rights, the supplier shall provide a copy of the notice 

required by subsection 5.2 by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 

any wholesaler affected by its request. Following the issuance and receipt of 

such notice, the parties shall comply with the provisions contained in 

Section 6.0 of this Rule. 

  

6.0 Reasonable Compensation 

6.1 Procedure for determining compensation 

6.1.1 A supplier may terminate or transfer distribution rights from an 

existing wholesaler without good cause upon the payment to the existing 

wholesaler of reasonable compensation for the value of the wholesaler's 

business related to the terminated or transferred brand or brands. For 

purposes of determining reasonable compensation under this Rule, the value of 

the wholesaler's business shall be deemed to be the inventory at laid-in cost 

of the terminated or transferred brand or brands and its associated good 

will. "Associated good will" is defined as 1.0 times the wholesaler's average 

annual gross profits on the terminated or transferred brand or brands for the 

last three fiscal years or such lesser period during which the brand or 

brands have been distributed by the terminated wholesaler. For purposes of 

this Rule "gross profits" shall mean selling price less F.O.B., taxes and 

freight. 

6.1.2 If the contract between a supplier and the existing wholesaler 

from which the supplier seeks to withdraw the distribution rights provides 

for an amount of compensation greater than that provided for by this Rule, 

the supplier shall be required to compensate the existing wholesaler in that 

greater amount prior to terminating or transferring such rights. 

6.2 Neutral arbitrator 

6.2.1 In the event that a supplier and its existing wholesaler are 

unable to agree on the amount of reasonable compensation to be paid by the 

supplier in accordance with subsection 6.1 within twenty days after the 

wholesaler receives a copy of the supplier's request to terminate or transfer 

distribution rights, as required by subsection 5.4, the dispute shall be 

submitted to a neutral arbitrator selected by the parties. If they cannot 



agree on an arbitrator within an additional twenty days, upon the request of 

either party, the arbitrator shall be appointed by the Commissioner. 

6.2.2 By becoming a party to any distribution contract governed by this 

Rule, such party agrees in advance to proceed to arbitration in accordance 

with the provisions of this Rule and to recognize the arbitrator as a 

subordinate designated by the Commissioner to conduct a hearing on the issue 

of reasonable compensation in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101. 

6.2.2.1 Upon agreement of the parties, the arbitrator may conduct 

an informal conference in lieu of a formal hearing in accordance 

with 29 Del.C. §10123. 

6.2.2.2 In the case of an informal hearing, as in the case of a 

formal hearing, a record from which a verbatim transcript can be prepared 

shall be made. 

6.2.3 The written decision of the arbitrator shall be submitted to the 

Commissioner which shall issue a final order in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act. 

6.2.4 The costs of arbitration shall be borne equally by the parties. 

6.3 Effective date of termination or transfer 

6.3.1 Any termination or transfer of distribution rights for which 

compensation is required under this Rule shall not be effective and shall not 

be permitted until the supplier has paid the required compensation to the 

wholesaler which is having its rights terminated or transferred, unless the 

supplier posts a bond in the amount of the required compensation, as 

determined by the final order of the Commissioner. 

6.3.2 A supplier may post a bond in the amount of the required 

compensation during the pendency of an appeal taken by any party affected by 

the compensation decision. Upon posting of the bond, the termination or 

transfer of distribution rights may take place. 

  

7.0 Good Cause for Involuntary Termination or Transfer 

7.1 Notwithstanding the provisions of the distribution contract between 

the parties, when, for good cause, a licensed supplier seeks to withdraw 

involuntarily distribution rights for alcoholic beverages already being sold 

in this State from a licensed wholesaler by termination of the relationship, 

transfer of brands or otherwise, and to confer those distribution rights on 

another licensed wholesaler, the Commissioner shall not approve the request 

unless the supplier establishes that "good cause", as defined in this Rule, 

exists to permit such termination or transfer as a result of the acts or 

omissions of the existing wholesaler. 



7.2 Because good cause can only be established based upon the acts or 

omissions of the existing wholesaler, it is not a sufficient basis that a 

supplier has obtained the rights to supply such alcoholic beverages in 

Delaware by means of a merger, purchase of stock, purchase of assets, or 

other acquisition, or by otherwise becoming the new regional or national 

supplier of such products. Any supplier obtaining such rights does so subject 

to the existing distribution relationship in Delaware for such alcoholic 

beverages. 

7.3 The term "good cause" as used in this Rule shall include: 

7.3.1 The failure or refusal of the wholesaler to comply substantially 

with a material provision of the distribution contract (including any 

provision establishing standards of performance), which provision is 

essential, fair and reasonable, after having received written notice of such 

failure from the supplier and having failed within sixty days thereafter to 

correct substantially such deficiency; provided, however, that such notice 

and opportunity to correct the deficiency is not required when the deficiency 

results from a licensed wholesaler's (i) felony conviction, (ii) fraudulent 

conduct, (iii) sales of the supplier's brands outside of its agreed upon 

sales territory, or (iv) failure to pay and continued failure to make payment 

to the supplier after receipt of written notice of the delinquency and demand 

for payment within the period of time agreed upon by the parties or ten 

business days, whichever is greater. 

7.3.2 In the absence of any express provision in the distribution 

contract establishing standards of performance, the failure of the wholesaler 

to meet reasonable and fair standards of performance based upon the custom 

and practice of the industry, after having received written notice of such 

failure from the supplier and having failed within sixty days thereafter to 

correct substantially such deficiency; provided, however, that such notice 

and opportunity to correct the deficiency is not required when the deficiency 

results from a licensed wholesaler's (i) felony conviction, (ii) fraudulent 

conduct, (iii) sales of the supplier's brands outside of its agreed upon 

sales territory, or (iv) failure to pay and continued failure to make payment 

to the supplier after receipt of written notice of the delinquency and demand 

for payment within the period of time agreed upon by the parties or ten 

business days, whichever is greater. 

7.3.3 The insolvency or bankruptcy of the wholesaler; 

7.3.4 The dissolution or liquidation of the wholesaler's business; 

7.3.5 The loss for more than thirty consecutive days by the wholesaler 

of any federal or state license necessary to carry out the provisions of the 

distribution contract between the parties whether by revocation, 

cancellation, failure to renew, suspension, or otherwise; 

7.3.6 The assignment, transfer or sale of the ownership or substantial 

assets of the wholesale licensee's business whenever the wholesaler to be 

substituted is financially unable to assume the obligations under the 



distribution contract, or lacks the business experience or qualifications 

necessary to protect the legitimate interests of the supplier. The burden of 

establishing such inability shall be upon the supplier. 

  

 

8.0 Dual Distribution 

8.1 The terms "dual" and "dualing" as used in this Rule mean the 

distribution of the same brand or brands of alcoholic beverages in Delaware 

by more than one wholesaler. The term "dualed wholesalers" identifies those 

wholesalers handling the brand or brands being dualed. 

8.2 A supplier may supply a new brand or brands of alcoholic beverages in 

Delaware by dualing such brand or brands provided that no provision of any 

applicable distribution contract prohibits dualing the product(s), and 

further provided that the supplier complies with the requirements of 

subsection 2.1 of this Rule. 

8.3 A supplier which is already supplying a brand or brands of alcoholic 

beverages in Delaware as a result of a distribution relationship with one 

wholesaler may confer dual distribution rights to the product(s) upon one or 

more additional wholesalers provided that no provision of the original 

distribution contract prohibits dualing, and further provided that the 

supplier complies with the requirements contained in subsection 8.4 of this 

Rule. 

8.4 If any supplier which is already supplying a brand or brands of 

alcoholic beverages in Delaware as a result of a distribution relationship 

with one wholesaler desires to dual such product(s), such supplier shall 

provide written notice to the Commissioner and all affected wholesalers at 

least sixty days prior to the proposed start of the dualing. Such written 

notice shall contain all of the following: 

8.4.1 The name of the brand or brands which it seeks to dual and the 

name and address of the wholesaler selling the product(s) at the time of the 

request; 

8.4.2 The names and addresses of those wholesalers through which it 

seeks to dual the brand or brands; 

8.4.3 A representation that the request to dual is based upon a valid 

bona fide business reason or reasons of the supplier, and a description of 

the business reason or reasons giving rise to the request; 

8.4.3.1 Reasons that do not constitute "valid bona fide business 

reasons" include, but are not limited to, the desire to avoid the requirement 

of establishing good cause for a termination or transfer of distribution 

rights; the desire to avoid paying compensation for a termination or transfer 



of distribution rights; any other circumstances that cause it to appear to 

the Commissioner that the request to dual is merely an attempt to circumvent 

any of the provisions of this Rule. 

8.4.4 A representation that the distribution contract with the existing 

wholesaler of the brand or brands sought to be dualed permits it to dual such 

products; and 

8.4.5 A representation that it will offer the dualed product(s) upon 

the same terms and conditions to every dualed wholesaler. No special terms, 

discounts or conditions shall be afforded to one wholesaler which are not 

afforded to all dualed wholesalers. 

8.5 Any existing wholesaler which is affected by a supplier's request to 

begin dual distribution of a brand or brands may oppose the request by 

sending written notice of its opposition to the Commissioner by certified 

mail, return receipt requested, within twenty days after its receipt of a 

copy of the supplier's request. A copy of the notice of opposition shall also 

be sent to the supplier and every other affected wholesaler. The failure to 

file a timely notice of opposition with the Commissioner shall waive the 

wholesaler's right to oppose the supplier's request to dual its product(s). 

8.6 If the Commissioner receives a timely notice of opposition to a 

supplier's request to begin the dual distribution of a brand or brands, the 

Commissioner shall hold a hearing to consider the request and the opposition 

thereto. The supplier shall not be permitted to begin the dual distribution 

of its product(s) until such time, following the hearing, as the Commissioner 

determines that it has complied with the requirements of this Rule and 

approves the request. 

  

  

Rule 902 (Formerly Rule 13) Labeling, and Standards of Identity and 

Standards of Fill of Alcoholic Liquors 

  

1.0 Purpose and Scope. 

This rule is intended to reduce obstacles to commerce in alcoholic liquors 

by adopting, to the extent possible under the Liquor Control Act, 4 Del. 

Code, federal laws and regulations relating to labeling, standards of 

identity, and standards of fill of alcoholic liquors. This rule applies to 

all alcoholic liquors manufactured, bottled, packaged, sold, imported, 

received, and stored for resale in the State of Delaware. 

  

 



2.0 Labeling. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture, bottle, package, sell, 

import, receive, or store for resale in this State alcoholic liquors, unless 

such liquors are labeled in conformity with federal laws and regulations 

applicable to such alcoholic liquors. It shall not be necessary for a 

manufacturer or supplier to file with the Commissioner evidence of label 

approval by an agency of the United States, except upon written request by 

the Commissioner. 

  

3.0 Standards of Identity. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture, bottle, package, sell, 

import, receive, or store for resale in this State alcoholic liquors, unless 

such liquors conform to the standards of identity provided by federal laws 

and regulations applicable to such alcoholic liquors. 

19 DE Reg. 775 (02/01/16) 

  

  

Rule 903 (Formerly Rule 8.1) A Rule Governing the Shipment and Storage of 

Alcoholic Liquors by Suppliers and Wholesalers 

  

1.0 Purpose 

1.1 This amended rule is promulgated, in part, pursuant to the 

Commissioner's authority to regulate time, place, and manner in which 

alcoholic liquor is sold or dispensed, and provides regulations for the 

marking of vehicles used by licensed importers for the transportation of 

alcoholic liquor. It also establishes standards for the distribution of 

alcoholic liquor by importers to establishments licensed by the Commissioner 

for the sale of alcoholic liquor. 

1.2 In addition, the Commissioner has found, pursuant to the 

Commissioner's authority, to promulgate rules and regulations necessary for 

the enforcement and furtherance of the objectives of 4 Del.C. §501, that all 

alcoholic liquor imported into this state must be unloaded and physically 

stored for a reasonable period of time to allow for enforcement of the 

regulatory provisions of the Liquor Control Act and Commissioner Rules. This 

rule, therefore, implements and clarifies 4 Del.C. §501(f) as to what period 

of time alcoholic liquors must be physically stored after it is unloaded in 

order to comply with 4 Del.C. §501(f) and all other provisions of Title 4, 

the Liquor Control Act, and the Commissioner Rules and Regulations 

promulgated thereto. 



1.3 Specifically, the Commissioner has found that seventy-two (72) hours 

is a reasonable "at-rest" period of time to enable the DATE to carry out its 

statutory duties to inspect and inventory licensed Delaware warehouses. 

  

2.0 Definitions: As Used in this Rule 

"Establishment" means any place located physically in this state where 

alcoholic liquor of one or more varieties is stored, sold, or used by 

authority of any law of this state, or where alcoholic liquor of one or more 

varieties is manufactured by virtue of any law of this state. 

"Importer" shall mean wholesaler and shall be located within the State of 

Delaware." 

Supplier" may be a brewery, winery, distiller, alcoholic beverage 

importer, or alcoholic beverage broker that sells alcoholic beverages to 

Importers of the State of Delaware. A supplier's organization may be located 

within or without the State of Delaware. 

  

3.0 Procedures 

3.1 Importer's vehicles, in which alcoholic beverages are shipped into 

and throughout Delaware, shall have painted on both of their sides the name 

of the importer and the words "Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Commissioner - License Number ........." (Insert the importer's license 

number) in letters at least two inches high, uncovered, and clearly visible. 

3.2 Vehicles owned by suppliers in which alcoholic beverages are shipped 

into Delaware, need not have the name of the Commissioner or the Delaware 

licensed importer's license number affixed to the side of the vehicle. 

3.3 Vehicles owned by suppliers shall not be used for delivery of 

alcoholic beverages to retailers in the State of Delaware. 

3.4 No peddling shall be allowed. Definite orders for all alcoholic 

beverages shipped from an Importer's warehouse shall have been received from 

customers before the loaded vehicles leave the warehouse. 

3.5 No alcoholic beverages in excess of that ordered shall be carried on 

the vehicles. 

3.6 A statement showing the destination of each package of alcoholic 

beverages shall be furnished the driver and carried by over the route. 

3.7 Upon the driver's return to the warehouse, the driver shall sign the 

statement showing the alcoholic beverages have been delivered to the 



destination listed. This statement shall be available for inspection by the 

Commissioner at all times. 

  

 

4.0 Importers' Warehouses 

4.1 Importers may have one or more warehouses in different locations 

within the State of Delaware provided proper application for such extra 

warehouse(s) is filed and approved by the Commissioner. 

4.2 The person in charge of an Importer's warehouse must be approved by 

the Commissioner. 

4.3 All Importers' warehouses used for the storage of alcoholic liquor, 

except public cold storage establishments, must be either owned or rented 

directly by the Importer or a business entity in which the Importer maintains 

complete ownership. The person in charge of the importer's warehouse is to be 

upon the regular salary list or payroll of such Importer. 

4.4 The Importer is responsible for ensuring compliance with the Liquor 

Control Act and Commissioner Rules at all premises licensed in its name by 

the Commissioner. 

  

5.0 Hours of Delivery 

5.1 Delivery trucks and other vehicles of an Importer, licensed by the 

Commissioner for the delivery of alcoholic liquor to licensed retail 

establishments, may leave the warehouse after five o'clock in the morning on 

any day when deliveries of alcoholic liquors are permitted; provided, 

however, that no actual delivery of beer, spirits, or wine to any licensed 

establishment is permitted before seven o'clock in the morning and no 

Importer may require a Retailer to accept deliveries prior to nine o'clock in 

the morning. 

5.2 Delivery trucks or other vehicles may operate as late as necessary to 

properly deliver orders; provided the trucks or other vehicles leave the 

warehouse prior to five-thirty o'clock in the afternoon, other than during 

the period from December 10 to December 31 when the trucks or other vehicles 

shall be permitted to leave the warehouse prior to eight o'clock in the 

evening. 

5.3 There shall be no delivery of beer, spirits, or wine on any holiday 

specified in 4 Del.C. §709 (d). 



5.4 Deliveries of alcoholic liquor by Importers, or their authorized 

representatives, to retail establishments, at any time not permitted by this 

rule is prohibited. 

  

6.0 The "At-Rest Requirement" [4 Del.C. Section 501(f)] 

6.1 A licensed Delaware Importer shall not import alcoholic liquor into 

the State of Delaware unless said alcoholic liquor is delivered directly from 

a Delaware licensed supplier by either the supplier, the Importer, or common 

carrier to a licensed Delaware warehouse or warehouses. 

6.2 Said licensed Delaware warehouse or warehouses must be owned, leased, 

or operated in accordance with subsection 4.3 of this rule. 

6.3 All alcoholic liquor delivered to said warehouse or warehouses must 

be unloaded and physically stored for a period of at least eighteen (18) 

hours. 

6.4 The minimum period of eighteen (18) hours "at rest" is required to 

enable the Commissioner, or DATE, to inspect and inventory wholesale 

warehouses for the purpose of verifying taxes that are required to be paid on 

alcoholic liquor purchased by Importers, pursuant to 4 Del.C. §581(a) and 

Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner Rule 601. 

6.5 Variances of the eighteen (18) hour storage requirement may be 

granted for good cause if formally made in writing and submitted to the 

Commissioner. 

  

7.0 Inspections and Inventories 

Pursuant to 4 Del.C. §304 (A)(2) and (5) and 4 Del.C. §581(c), DATE and the 

Division of Revenue may inspect the establishment of any licensed Delaware 

Importer and inventory any or all alcoholic liquor in the Importer's 

possession at any time they deem reasonable and necessary to carry out their 

statutory duties to verify the reporting and collection of taxes payable to 

the State of Delaware. 

  

8.0 Interstate Shipments 

8.1 Every person in charge of transportation by motor vehicle, by 

railroad, by water vessel, by common carrier, or by any other vehicle that 

transports alcoholic beverages in or through the State of Delaware in an 

interstate shipment shall have a way bill. The carrier must have in his 

possession the way bill and be prepared to present it when asked. 



8.2 The way-bill shall embody these written or printed terms: 

8.2.1 The date of its issue. 

8.2.2 The name and address of the consignor. 

8.2.3 The name and address of the consignee. 

8.2.4 A statement as to whether the goods will be delivered to a 

specified person or to the order of a specified person. 

8.2.5 A description of the package, stating the number and contents. 

8.2.6 The signature of the carrier or his duly authorized agent. 
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