

STATE OF DELAWARE Department of Safety & Homeland Security DIVISION OF ALCOHOL & TOBACCO ENFORCEMENT 34 STARLIFTER AVENUE DOVER, DE 19901

TELEPHONE: (302) 741-2721 FAX: (302) 739-4770

Thank you for your interest in the Alcohol Cooperating Underage Witness (CUW) program!

The Alcohol CUW program was designed by the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement (DATE) to ensure all stores, bars, restaurants and other businesses that sell or serve alcohol are in compliance with state age requirements. On average, our agency will test compliance at approximately 1,300 locations year-round.

The Alcohol CUW Program is STRICTLY a volunteer program. There is no pay for participation however, CUW's can earn volunteer/community service hours while participating in the program. The Alcohol CUW Program is a great way for young adults to gain some experience if they are considering a Law Enforcement career.

The safety and welfare of all CUW's is a primary focus at DATE. Officers with the Division are certified police officers in the State of Delaware. For more information about our agency and the CUW program, visit us online at www.date.delaware.gov or call (302) 741-2715 if you have any questions.

PROGRAM QUALIFICATIONS:

- CUW's must be at least 17 years old and no older than 20 years & 6 months to volunteer under this program.
- Must be mature, honest, and demonstrate responsible behavior at all times.
- Successfully pass a background screening.

APPLICATIONS ARE ACCEPTED YEAR-ROUND!

HOW TO APPLY:

The following must be completed and returned by the deadline. Incomplete applications will hinder our process and may disqualify your participation in the program. All paperwork and copies should be clear, legible and printed in blue or black ink.

Application for Participation
Copy of Driver's License or State Issued ID

Application and documents can be mailed to: Division of Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement, 600 South Bay Road, Suite 3, Dover, DE 19901. ATTN: CUW Program, or email to Tiffany.Lacy@Delaware.gov.

STATE OF DELAWARE DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO ENFORCEMENT

ALCOHOL COOPERATING UNDERAGE WITNESS PROGRAM

Application for Participation (Volunteer)

Na	nme:			Date of Birth:
St	reet Address:			
City/Town:		State:	Zip	Code:
Ce	ell Phone Number:	Home Phone	Number:	
En	nail Address:			
	hool:			
1.	How did you hear about the CUW Program?			
2.	Why do you want to join the CUW Program?			
	Do you or your parent/guardian have significant final trustee, officer, or Director of a company that is licen YES NO	ncial interest s	uch as owning	stock in, serving as an employee,
	you answered yes, please provide the person's name, they are affiliated with:			• • •
4.	Are you currently employed? YES	□ NO		
	Employer:		Location:	
	Job Title:	Duties:		
	Schedule:			
Pa	arent/Guardian Contact Information – <mark>UNDER 1</mark>	8 YEARS OLI)	
1.	Parent/Guardian Name:			Home Phone:
	Cell Phone:	Ema	i1:	
2.	Parent/Guardian Name:			
	Cell Phone:	Ema	il:	

STATE OF DELAWARE DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO ENFORCEMENT

ALCOHOL COOPERATING UNDERAGE WITNESS PROGRAM

Permission to Participate and Release of Liability

UNDER 18 YEARS OLD:

I give my child permission to participate in the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement's Alcohol Cooperating Underage Witness (CUW) Program to include conducting compliance checks with certified police officers with the Division. I understand that my child may be required to offer testimony against violators in any court of law and/or in an administrative proceeding, that may result from their cooperation with the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement. I agree to fully comply with any requirement and/or subpoena that I or my child may receive.

I do hereby release and discharge the State of Delaware, Department of Safety and Homeland Security, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement, its agents and insurers, from all claims, demands, damages, actions, causes of actions or suits, at law or in equity, of whatsoever kind of nature on my minor child's account, of any injury or damage to my minor child's person or property resulting from, or arising out of, his or her participation in any enforcement activity involving the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement. I understand that this release includes but is not limited to, property damage, bodily injury, medical costs and expenses and lost wages.

Signature of Parent/Guardian:	Date:
Printed Name:	Relationship to Minor:

18 YEARS OLD AND OLDER:

I understand that I may be required to offer testimony against violators in any court of law and/or in an administrative proceeding, that may result from their cooperation with the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement. I agree to fully comply with any requirement and/or subpoena that I or my child may receive.

I do hereby release and discharge the State of Delaware, Department of Safety and Homeland Security, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement, its agents and insurers, from all claims, demands, damages, actions, causes of actions or suits, at law or in equity, of whatsoever kind of nature on my minor child's account, of any injury or damage to my minor child's person or property resulting from, or arising out of, his or her participation in any enforcement activity involving the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement. I understand that this release includes but is not limited to, property damage, bodily injury, medical costs and expenses and lost wages.

Signature of Applicant:	Date:
Printed Name:	

STATE OF DELAWARE DIVISION OF ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO ENFORCEMENT

ALCOHOL COOPERATING UNDERAGE WITNESS PROGRAM Criminal Background Release

This form must be completed by the applicant. If the applicant is under the age of 18, a parent/guardian must acknowledge and sign.

NAME OF APPLICANT	':		DATE OF BI	RTH:		
I, the above-named applican undergo a criminal backgrou the Alcohol CUW program. may disqualify me from pa discovered. This authorization CUW Program and shall not	nd check, conducted be I hereby provide concerticipating in the property on, or a reproduction to	by the Division of Alcohousent for the background ogram if negative police hereof, shall be valid for	ol and Tobacco led check and I use contact or critical the duration of the	Enforcement, to the control of the c	to participant in at the Division information is	
Applicant Signature:		Date:				
UNDER 18 YEARS OLD As a parent of the above-ref that my child, named herein, and Tobacco Enforcement to check and I understand th criminal history informatio of my child's assignment to document. Parent Signature: Print Name:	Perenced applicant, I us, is required to undergo participant in the Alemat the Division mayon is discovered. This the Alcohol CUW Pro-	to a criminal background cohol CUW program. I he disqualify my child, no authorization, or a reproduction.	check conducted thereby provide amed herein, it duction thereof, ar (4) years from	d by the Divis consent for the f negative pol shall be valid to	sion of Alcohol ne background lice contact or for the duration	
				Date:		
		Division use only:		_	_	
					☐ Fail	
		-		_	☐ Fail	
-				_	☐ Fail ☐ Fail	
Date of check: Date of check: Date of check:	Performed by: Performed by: Performed by: Performed by:		Result: Result: Result: Result:	☐ Pass☐ Pass☐ Pass☐ Pass		