License fees to make, import and sell alcoholic beverages are set in §554 of Title 4 of the Delaware state Code . A selection of fee information is provided below. For a complete accounting of required licenses and fees, please contact the staff of the OABCC .

Application process fees

With some exceptions, if any application for a license requires any investigation or a hearing by the Commissioner, the applicant shall pay an application process fee of $1,000 in addition to any other required fees. The application process fee is not refundable. A portion of the application process fee will be used to help fund the Delaware Responsible Alcoholic Beverage Server Training Program.

For all of the fees set forth below, the fees are for a biennial license.

To sell alcoholic liquors

  • For any premises to sell on Sundays: $500
  • In a hotel: $1,000
  • In a restaurant: $1,000
  • On a boat: $1,000
  • In the passenger cars of a railroad: $600 in each railroad
  • In a club, to members of that club:
    - Less than 400 members: $300
    - More than 400 members: $600
  • In a taproom: $1,000
  • From a hotel, restaurant, taproom, or store, not for consumption on the premises: $1,000
  • As an off-site caterer: $500
  • At a horse racetrack: $3,000
  • At a motorsports speedway: $3,000
  • As a ship's chandler: $1,000
  • In a dinner theater: $1,000
  • As a caterer for consumption on the premises: $1,000
  • For Bottle Clubs : $300
  • In a cabaret: $2,000
  • As an air passenger carrier : $1,000
  • To conducting spirit-tasting: $150
  • As a brewery-pub: $2,000
  • At a multi-purpose sports facility: $3,000
  • At a bowling alley: $1,000
  • On a patio: $1,000
  • In a concert hall: $1,500
  • To sell alcoholic beverages to members or guests of members of a multiple activity club: $1,500
  • To conduct tasting in a store: $150

To sell alcoholic liquors at gatherings of persons (only available to not-for-profit entities)

  • Daily License:
    - Up to two days: $5
    - More than two days: $5 plus $2 for each additional day (over two), unless the license is for any holiday specified in state law ( 4 Del. Code, §709(d)) , in which case the additional days are $5.
  • Biennial Licenses:
    - Less than 25 events: $200 plus an additional $200 for events held on any holiday specified in state law ( 4 Del. Code, §709(d))
    - Between 25 and 75 events: $400 plus an additional $300 for events held on any holiday specified in state law ( 4 Del. Code, §709(d))
    - More than 75 events: $1,000 plus an additional $400 for events held on any holiday specified in state law ( 4 Del. Code, §709(d))

To sell beer and/or wine only

  • In a restaurant: $500
  • To conduct wine auctions: $1,500
  • To conduct a wine auction by a nonprofit organization: $50 per event
  • As a direct shipper : $100

To sell beer only

To manufacture and sell beer and cider

  • As a brewery-pub: $2,000

The biennial license fee for breweries or microbreweries is based on annual production.

  • Less than 25,000 barrels: $1,500
  • Between 25,000 and 50,000 barrels: $3,000
  • Between 50,000 and 100,000 barrels: $6,000
  • More than 100,000 barrels: $9,000

To operate a distillery

The biennial license fee for distilleries is based on annual production.

  • For the first 500 gallons: $100
  • For the next 5,000 gallons: 6 cents per gallon
  • For the next 10,000 gallons: 4.5 cents per gallon
  • For the next 50,000 gallons: 3 cents per gallon
  • For the next 100,000 gallons: 1.5 cents per gallon
  • For each gallon over 165,500: 0.75 cents per gallon

The biennial license fee to operate as a craft distillery is $1,500.

To bottle beer

The biennial license fee for bottling beer is based on production.

  • Up to 500 barrels: $100
  • Each additional 500 Barrels (or fraction): $100

To operate a winery

The biennial license fee to operate a winery or to bottle and sell wine is $1,500. To operate a farm winery, the fee is $1,500.

To import and/or ship

  • To import or ship alcoholic liquor, other than beer and wine: $7,500
    - Sales for scientific or pharmaceutical uses are exempt
  • To import or ship beer: $3,000
  • To import or ship wine: $3,000
  • To import less than 1,000 cases of wine, annually: $200

Additional notes

  • The Commissioner will establish a fee to transport a stock of alcoholic liquor from a place where sale or storage has been authorized to another location.
  • fees for a temporary license fee shall be between one half and twice the amount of the annual license fee, at the discretion of the Commissioner.
  • The fee for a temporary large event license is $500.
alt